Who Is The Current Captain Of The National Pakistan Cricket Team?


1 Answers

Dan Banks Profile
Dan Banks answered

The current captain of Pakistan's national cricket team is Misbah-ul-Haq. Misbah captains the team in both test matches and one day internationals, Mohammad Hafeez is the current Twenty20 captain of Pakistan.

In 2010 Salman Butt, the previous captain, was banned from playing cricket for 10 years and jailed for 30 months following his involvement in the 2010 spot fixing scandal. Fast bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif also received bans and prison sentences for their roles in the betting plot after they were caught in a sting operation by an English newspaper. Following this controversy Misbah-ul-Haq was instated as test and ODI captain and so far has had a relatively successful captaincy, most notably beating England in the United Arab Emirates 3 - 0. Misbah-ul-Haq is Pakistan's 28th test and 27th ODI captain in history.

Misbah-ul-Haq was axed from the Twenty20 squad due to his age and inconsistent form in this format, instead all rounder Mohammad Hafeez was given the captaincy in 2012. He became the sixth Pakistani cricketer to be given the Twenty20 captaincy.

Test & ODI captain

  • Misbah-ul-Haq

Twenty20 captain

  • Mohammad Hafeez

Answer Question